T.V. Treasure

Science: Last night our plans to go watch a movie didn’t pan out. Daddy took off work early to go with us and we started down the highway. It was 22 degrees and the snow was coming down. He turned to me and said, “I’m thinking this isn’t a good idea.” And I knew he was right. We thought quickly about what we could do instead. We decided to go watch T.V. together, to watch with the kids what they wanted to watch. As soon as we had decided, shouts came from the back seat, “How about Nickelodeon, can we watch some Nickelodeon??” I had been hoping we would watch a movie together, but the point of the evening was to spend time with them, entering into the same world, so we agreed. A demonstration of force and motion ensued when our van slid past the driveway on the very slick highway.

Socioemotional: First we watched two episodes of The Loud House, which was quite entertaining. Then we watched two episodes of Henry Danger, which had my oldest and I laughing heartily together. It was wonderful. There were so many valuable lessons presented throughout the course of the programs. Accepting your friends and family for who they are and not trying to change them, how family helps each other out, identifying con artists, sacrificing our immediate wants for ultimate good.

Math and History: We came home and did a worksheet and an assessment from Saxon 2. And began reading about how New Amsterdam became New York in our book, This Country of Ours by H.E. Marshall (which I love).

Literature: Amy has also rekindled an obsession with Little Red Riding Hood. She wanted me to read it to her, I found the version by Charles Perrault online and read it while she cowered beneath my back into the chair. Then we found a YouTube version of the story and she has been watching different versions of that. This led to Rapunzel and American Girl and Frozen toy videos.

P.E.: The kids have been playing in the snow constantly. Making snowballs, putting them in the freezer, prompting conversation on states of matter and physical properties of matter.

Socioemotional: Lots of Caillou.

Mom’s mental health has been improving, by the way. Yesterday I joyfully cleaned my house, joyfully did the dishes. I feel very calm and unrushed, almost zenlike, helping the children put all their winter clothes on and off, anticipating their food needs. I feel joy. Joy is rising. When I wake up in the morning, I am calmed and relieved to remember the direction we are taking. It soothes my spirit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

