Someone There

I wished for someone to be there

When I dialed the phone.

Instead a heard a voice that was flat, distant, disinterested.

Alone in your gloom, disconnected from me.

In your sorrow, why am I your enemy?

In darkness, why turn away from a friend?

When I need you, you treat me with disdain.

In my moments of weakness, you crush me.

How long will I reach out to you?

How long will I mistrust the truth

That you are cold and absorbed in your misery

Incapable of being reached?

Leave a Reply

